Math 446 (Sections C13 and C14): Applied Complex Variables

Spring 2017


Instructor: Florin Boca

Office: 371 Altgeld Hall

Phone: 244-9928

E-mail: fboca at illinois dot edu


Grader: Yuxuan Zhang (yzhng172 at illinois dot edu)

Textbook: James W. Brown and Ruel V. Churchill, Complex Variables and Applications, Mc Graw Hill 2008 (8th edition).

Course description: For students who desire a working knowledge of complex variables; covers the standard topics and gives an introduction to integration by residues, the argument principle, conformal maps, and potential fields. Students desiring a systematic development of the foundations of the subject should take MATH 448.

3 or 4 undergraduate hours. 3 or 4 graduate hours. Credit is not given for both MATH 446 and MATH 448. 4 hours of credit requires approval of the instructor and department with completion of additional work of substance. Prerequisite: MATH 241.

Syllabus


Lectures: MWF 10:00-10:50, 156 Henry Bld.

Office hours: Monday 4:00-5:00, Wednesday 5:00-6:00


Grading policy: Comprehensive final exam: 35%; Best two midterm scores (out of three tests): 40%; Homework and quizzes: 20%; Class participation: 5%.

Homework and quiz policy: There will be 14 HW assignments. Assignments # 2N, N=1,2,...,7, will be collected and (randomly) selected problems will be graded. Assignments # 2K-1, K=1,2,...,7 will not be collected. Instead, a 15 minutes quiz with two problems from that assignment will be given in class.

Only the best 12 (out of 14) scores will count towards the final score in the class. As a result HW extension or make-up quizzes will not be allowed.


Homework assignments:

HW # 1 (quiz on Friday Jan 27)

HW # 2 (due on Friday Feb 3)

HW # 3 (quiz on Friday Feb 10)

HW # 4 (due on Wednesday Feb 15)

HW # 5 (quiz on Friday Feb 24)

HW # 6 (due on Friday March 3)

HW # 7 (quiz on Friday March 10)

HW # 8 (due on Friday March 17)

HW # 9 (quiz on Friday March 31)

HW # 10 (due on Friday April 7)

HW # 11 (quiz on Friday April 14)

HW # 12 (due on Friday April 21)

HW # 13 (quiz on Friday April 28)

HW # 14 (due by noon on Friday May 5)


Midterm exams calendar: Midterm 1: Friday Feb 17, Midterm 2: Wednesday March 29, Midterm 3: Wednesday April 26.

Final exam: 1:30-4:30 pm, Friday, May 12, 156 Henry Bld.


Last modified: May 5, 2017