Math 221, Section EL1, Fall 2013
Schedule
Future assignments subject to change.

On-line homework will close at 11:59 p.m. of date indicated.

Date Section Problems to consider (not due)/Worksheets Notes
Tues, Aug 27 2.1 1, 5, 6, 7, 8 Be sure your WebAssign account is working.
Wed, Aug 28 2.1 WorkSheet1 Be sure you have met the ALEKS placement requirement to be in this course.

ALEKS

Thurs, Aug 29 2.2

2.3

3, 10, 44, 45, 51, 65

7, 13, 17, 19, 23, 26, 29, 35, 37, 41, 42, 44

Fri, Aug 30 2.2

2.3

WorkSheet2 Quiz 1: 2.1
Tues, Sept 3 2.5

2.6

3, 10, 44, 45, 51, 65

7, 13, 17, 19, 23, 26, 29, 35, 37, 41, 42, 44, 62, 63

Skip pages 138-140.
Wed, Sept 4 2.5

2.6

WorkSheet3

Thurs, Sept 5 2.7 3, 7, 13, 18, 20, 23, 27, 33, 37, 42, 43, 47, 50
Fri, Sept 6 2.7 WorkSheet4 Quiz 2: 2.2, 2.3
Tues, Sept 10 2.2

2.3

2.5

2.6

2.7

2, 7, 29, 30, 31, 32

(online only)

45, 65

46, 62, 63

51, 52

Review of Chapter 2 material.
Wed, Sept 11 2.2

2.3

2.5

2.6

2.7

WorkSheet5
Thurs, Sept 12 2.8 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 13, 15, 33, 43, 44, 45, 52
Fri, Sept 13 2.8 WorkSheet6

Quiz 3: 2.5, 2.6, 2.7
Tues, Sept 17 3.1

3.2

3, 5, 6, 7, 9, 11, 12, 13, 19, 34, 35, 47, 51, 66, 73

1, 4, 9, 11, 13, 20, 21, 26, 32

Wed, Sept 18 3.1

3.2

WorkSheet7

Thurs, Sept 19 3.3

3.4

1, 5, 7, 11, 22, 25, 32, 36

13, 14, 15, 23, 27, 29, 31, 39, 47, 51, 61, 62, 63

Fri, Sept 20 3.3

3.4

WorkSheet8

Quiz 4: 2.8, 3.1, 3.2
Tues, Sept 24 3.5 1, 3, 7, 11, 13, 21, 25, 39, 40 Exam on Thursday! This homework due next Tues.

Prof. McCarthy's Exam 1 from 2011.
Prof. McCarthy's Exam 1 from 2012.

Wed, Sept 25 Review WorkSheet9

Thurs, Sept 26 Exam I 2.1-2.3

2.5-3.4

In regular classroom, 314 Altgeld, at the regular lecture time.
Fri, Sept 27 3.5 WorkSheet10 No Quiz
Tues, Oct 1 3.6

3.7

2, 3, 15, 19, 32, 43, 44, 48

1, 7, 11, 12, 14, 15, 20, 25, 26

Wed, Oct 2 3.6

3.7

WorkSheet11

Thurs, Oct 3 3.8

3.9

1, 2, 3, 9, 10, 13, 15, 17, 18, 19

4, 5, 6, 7, 11, 12, 14, 15, 16, 18

Fri, Oct 4 3.8

3.9

WorkSheet12

> Quiz 5: 3.4, 3.5, 3.6, 3.7
Tues, Oct 8 3.9

3.10

24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 33, 35, 38, 39, 40, 45

1, 5, 6, 11, 14, 20, 21, 28, 36, 38

Wed, Oct 9 3.10 WorkSheet13

Thurs, Oct 10 4.1

4.2

1, 5, 30, 31, 34, 36, 43, 44, 49, 52, 57, 59, 60, 69, 73

1, 5, 11, 13, 17, 23, 24

Fri, Oct 11 4.1

4.2

WorkSheet14

Quiz 6: 3.8, 3.9, 3.10
Tues, Oct 15 4.4 1, 11, 12, 17, 25, 28, 29, 33, 41, 43, 44, 49, 53, 56, 57, 58, 61, 65, 67
Wed, Oct 16 4.4 WorkSheet15
Thurs, Oct 17 4.3

4.5

3, 5, 8, 9, 10, 13, 16, 19, 25, 51, 56, 67,

13, 15, 17, 18, 36

Fri, Oct 18 4.3

4.5

WorkSheet16

Quiz 7: 4.1, 4.2, 4.4
Tues, Oct 22 4.7 2, 5, 7, 9, 10, 14, 15, 16, 19, 24, 30, 32, 33, 40, 42, 44, 46, 47, 48, 51
Wed, Oct 23 4.7 WorkSheet17
Thurs, Oct 24 4.8

4.9

6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 13

33, 35, 39, 41, 43, 64, 69, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76,

Exam 2 practice problems:
Prof. McCarthy's Exam 2 from 2011.
Prof. McCarthy's Exam 2 from 2012.
Fri, Oct 25 4.8

4.9

WorkSheet18 Quiz 8: 4.3, 4.5, 4.7
Tues, Oct 29 5.1 2, 3, 5, 22, 23, 24 Exam on Thursday! On-line homework due next Monday.
Wed, Oct 30 Review
Thurs, Oct 31 Exam II 3.4-4.9 In regular classroom, 314 Altgeld, at the regular lecture time.
Fri, Nov 1 5.1 No Quiz
Tues, Nov 5 5.2 2, 4, 7, 17, 18, 22, 23, 26, 33, 37, 39, 41, 48, 49
Wed, Nov 6 5.2 WorkSheet20
Thurs, Nov 7 5.3 3, 7, 8, 11, 12, 15, 19, 21, 23, 29, 31, 32, 35, 40, 45, 57, 63, 68, 69
Fri, Nov 8 5.3 WorkSheet21 Quiz 9: 5.1, 5.2
Tues, Nov 12 5.4

5.5

10, 11, 14, 16, 35, 37, 49, 50, 56, 59, 60, 63, 64, 69

1, 2, 3, 4, 5

Due Tues after break.
Wed, Nov 13 5.4

5.5

WorkSheet22
Thurs, Nov 14 5.5

6.1

39, 41, 44, 45, 47, 48, 53, 55, 63, 68, 69, 81, 84

1, 3, 4, 29, 47, 50, 51, 53

Due Tues after break.
Fri, Nov 15 5.5

6.1

WorkSheet23 Quiz 10: 5.3, 5.4
Tues, Nov 19 6.1

6.2

1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 12, 13, 15, 48, 49, 50, 51, 54, 55, 58, 59, 61, 62

Wed, Nov 20 6.1

6.2

WorkSheet24
Thurs, Nov 21 6.3

6.4

1, 9, 15, 19, 47

8, 13, 15, 16, 17, 19, 22

Prof. McCarthy's Exam 3 from 2011.
More Exam 3 practice problems.
Fri, Nov 22 6.3

6.4

WorkSheet25 Quiz 11: 5.5, 6.1, 6.2
Tues, Dec 3 Review Exam on Thursday!
Wed, Dec 4 Review WorkSheet26
Thurs, Dec 5 Exam III 5.1-6.4 In regular classroom, 314 Altgeld, at the regular lecture time.
Fri, Dec 6 Final Review No Quiz
Tues, Dec 10 Final Review Old Exams
Prof. McCarthy's Final Exam from 2011
Prof. McCarthy's Final Exam from 2012
Wed, Dec 11 Final Review WorkSheet27